[Svnmerge] Bugs when merging revisions that modify and deletefiles
archie at dellroad.org
Wed Jan 10 15:55:00 PST 2007
On 1/10/07, Giovanni Bajo <rasky at develer.com> wrote:
> On 10/01/2007 22.15, Archie Cobbs wrote:
> > For example, suppose a file is changed in rev X and then renamed
> > (i.e., copied and deleted) in rev Y.
> > Then "svn merge --force" of X and Y will cause the changes in revision
> > X to be lost, no?
> Absolutely not!
You're right... I had it backwards in my head.
The case I had in mind that doesn't work is when you merge Y but NOT
X. Then the file will get "renamed" but the newly named version will
have the changes of revision X in it, even though you never merged
revision X into your branch.
But that problem is not related to adding "--force" to "svn merge".
Thanks for your analysis of the code. It looks now that it would be
safe and the right thing to do to add "--force". +1 from me.
Archie Cobbs * CTO, Awarix * http://www.awarix.com
More information about the Svnmerge